We Chose Christ, Didn’t We?

jun21My previous post dealt with the fact that God chose people to be saved before time began. Some readers might object that this eliminates our ability to choose to obey or disobey. The reality is that people have the ability to choose but God also predestinated some to be saved.

From the beginning, The Lord let humanity choose to obey or disobey. We see that in Genesis chapter three. Though the Almighty chose the people of Israel as his own, they were also allowed to accept or reject his rulership.
jun21a
Look at what the Bible says in Joshua 24:15 (KJV). “And if it seem evil unto you to serve the LORD, choose you this day whom ye will serve; whether the gods which your fathers served that were on the other side of the flood, or the gods of the Amorites, in whose land ye dwell: but as for me and my house, we will serve the LORD.”

In the New Testament, John the Baptist cried out to Israel in Matthew 3:2 (KJV) “And saying, ‘Repent ye: for the kingdom of heaven is at hand.'” How could they repent and believe if they had no will to do so?
jun21b
The Apostle Paul makes it clear that people must choose to believe in Christ in Romans 10:14 (KJV). “How then shall they call on him in whom they have not believed? and how shall they believe in him of whom they have not heard? and how shall they hear without a preacher?”

Just because we can’t understand how we are both chosen and yet being asked to choose to follow Christ, it doesn’t mean we can only accept one of those truths. Both predestination and choice are shown throughout God’s Word.

In my next post, I’ll show how foolish we Christians have been for arguing for either way of salvation.

Author: bruce Atchison - author

I'm a legally-blind freelance writer as well as the author of three memoirs and scores of articles. Contact me for details.

6 thoughts on “We Chose Christ, Didn’t We?”

  1. Oh boy, really? It amazes me how some people put the bible together to say there’s a “special” people god created. You would be one of those special people who believes god is prejudice in his creation because ??? Humans can’t even get off their planet very well, if we were his chosen, sigh, I’ll give up god. I think he’s greater than needing to be that way at all.

    1. Did you really understand what I wrote in my article? From your reply, it doesn’t seem so.

      And who are you to say that God should be this or that way? God is God and nothing you and I say or think will change that. The Bible is the only authority on God, not mere human beings. Those who think they can make God into their own image will have one horrible shock at Judgement Day. You can believe what you want but truth is truth. The Bible has been proven true through its prophecies, history, ethics, and longevity. I’ll go by what it says, not what’s popular in culture today.

      1. The bible is viewed by many as “the” “authority” on God, I disagree with that on many fundamental levels. And you use “only” too. I understand what you wrote about as good as I understood that inaccuracy you just wrote there. Good bless you.

        1. Like I wrote, the Bible is thee authority. It doesn’t matter what we puny humans think. You’re free to disagree all you want but facts are facts. I choose to go with what’s true, even if I don’t like it.

          The whole point of my blog post is that both truths, predestination and choice, are true. Therefore we must accept them as fact. Some Christians grasp either one and condemn those who believe in the other. Since both are true, both are right.

          1. We puny humans constructed the bible, it is not the authority just because you or any other human determines it to be. I’m a great human created by God, just as much an authority as any other human. Your logic is unempowering to ALL of God’s creation, which is so much greater than Christianity, thankfully. God bless you.

            1. Thanks for your comments on my post. I really appreciate your kindness and this discussion.

              How could the creation be greater than its creator? It was created but the creator wasn’t. Neither can we understand an uncreated creator. In fact, there are so many things that we don’t know about God and his creation that it’s foolish to believe we have the wherewithal to grasp his infinite mind.

              I’m not denying your personhood or that of anybody. It’s a fact that our minds are finite. We come into this world knowing nothing of it. We are all made in the image of God but we lack the omniscience which he alone has.

              I really should blog more on this subject. Thanks for the inspiration to do so. May the Lord bless you richly.

Leave a Reply

