THE VALUE OF PERSISTENCE

Electronics class 1 (small)

I remember well the final two weeks of grade twelve. The mathematics course I took forty years ago drove me crazy. Even though it wasn’t the most advance course, I couldn’t comprehend how fractions could be multiplied and divided.

“Why can’t you get it?” my math teacher would exclaim often when I turned in another test paper filled with mistakes. I didn’t know the answer then but I now believe that I wasn’t able to visualize what was going on in the equations he taught me.

One Wednesday evening, when a woman I call Sister Eileen drove me home from church, I poured out my complaint to her. “I’m so tempted to drop out of that course and try again in September,” I finished.

“Don’t drop out,” she admonished as she parked in front of the house in which I rented a basement room. “You only have two weeks to go. If you quit now, you’ll have to spend three months doing the same course over.”

I pondered what she said as we sat in her car. It did make sense that I would have to work longer to get my high school diploma. On the other hand, the course felt like pure torture. How well I identified with Alice Cooper’s “School’s Out” hit record.

Another song which helped me plow through those final days was “Hold On” by John Lennon. I added my name into the lyrics and sang them to myself whenever I felt like I couldn’t take one more humiliating day.

I’m glad I hung in there and finished the course. Though my mark was forty, the teacher felt sorry for me and added five more percent so I wouldn’t get an F. Because I continued with that agonizing class, I was able to get my high school diploma at the end of June and have a worry-free summer.

Because I stuck with the class, I was able to attend a job and mobility training course at the Canadian National Institute for the Blind in Toronto that September. If I hadn’t heeded Sister Eileen’s advice, I would have had three more months of slogging my way through the same math problems which I couldn’t understand.

As for that summer and the subsequent trip to Toronto, I wrote about it in a book called How I Was Razed: A Journey from Cultism to Christianity. Read more about how God providentially led me to a true understanding of him at Amazon, Barnes & Noble, and Powell’s Books.

Author: bruce Atchison - author

I'm a legally-blind freelance writer as well as the author of How I Was Razed, Deliverance from Jericho, and When a Man Loves a Rabbit. Two of those memoirs are available on my Blogspot page. How I Was Razed is available through Amazon and at the www.virtualbookworm.com page.

1 thought on “THE VALUE OF PERSISTENCE”

  1. Reblogged this on Niki.V.all.ways.My.way. and commented:
    oh, my, except when they decide that you are crazy because you won’t let the issue go. then they arrest you and put you in jail because they want to keep on doing stupid things like killing your neighbors and friends. #GlobalPoliceStateStanddown is my persistent and insistent demand of my government.

    #hardblockstupid

Leave a Reply

