ONE-HUNDRED PERCENT WRONG ONE-HUNDRED PERCENT OF THE TIME

Image

As 2013 ends, keep in mind that predictions of the end of the world have been wrong all the time. Tons of books have been written and sold about how this or that event marked the beginning of the end, yet we’re still here. So why do people keep predicting doomsday? It makes them money, that’s why.

Remember back in January of 1974 when the Children of God cult predicted that a comet would destroy the United States? Kohoutek was supposed to be bright and close to the earth, so scientist predicted, yet it actually looked very faint. I didn’t hear about how many people took it seriously but I’m sure some did leave America.

Remember Y2K? Many people were duped into buying a year’s supply of dehydrated food because society was supposed to collapse when the computers crashed. Apart from minor glitches, nothing happened.

I certainly remember the false prophecy of a man who calls himself Brother Stair. He predicted, wrongly of course, that fifty percent of Americans would be dead in 2003. Again, I don’t know how many folks took him seriously. I certainly didn’t.

Jack Van Impe made a lot of money in the past with his sensational prophecies. One of his videos was entitled “2001 Countdown to Eternity.” I’m glad that a friend gave me a VHS copy rather than me having to purchase that over-hyped baloney.

Then there was the Mayan calendar fiasco last year. Many false prophets claimed that since it ran out on December twenty-first, the world would end in flames. However, it cycled back to the beginning again.

Whichever way you celebrate the new year, you can relax in the knowledge that the world won’t end because some preachers claim it will next year. They were wrong before and they’ll be wrong again.

Nobody knows when Christ will return. He’ll come when he comes. As long as you belong to him, you’ll be safe when he does arrive to make a new heaven and a new earth.

I wrote extensively about a house church minister and his bogus prophecies in my newly-published memoir, How I Was Razed: A Journey from Cultism to Christianity. Please check it out at Amazon, Barnes & Noble,and Virtual Bookworm Publishers.

Author: bruce Atchison - author

I'm a legally-blind freelance writer as well as the author of three memoirs and scores of articles. Contact me for details.

2 thoughts on “ONE-HUNDRED PERCENT WRONG ONE-HUNDRED PERCENT OF THE TIME”

  1. I was all caught up in the December 21st hype. The Mayan’s surely had to be right, right? The thing that really did me in was reports that some super computer that had been programmed to scour the internet had been reported to be able to predict the future, and from December 21st, to some time last spring, this amazing man made machine was not able to translate any of it’s findings into its amazing predictions. The future was a blank, three month span of nothingness, which I was sure would be the end of the beginning, or the beginning of the end, or a clear the shelves and dig a hole trauma that would surely eliminate all of us. Well, here I am, sitting at my computer, typing, which would indicate that the end didn’t begin. Trendy sort of money hungry folks, these dooms-dayers. Great post Bruce, and Happy New Year! dp

    Deon Lyons Author of “Sully Street” And new release, “Ready, Set, Poetry” Both available in Paperback and Digital @ http://www.amazon.com/D.-P.-Lyons/e/B0034PYDRE/ref=ntt_athr_dp_pel_pop_1

    Send me an email @ dplion@outlook.com Personal Website http://www.dplyons.com Personal Blog http://www.dplyons.wordpress.com Connect with me on Facebook:: https://www.facebook.com/deon.lyons.9

    “The happiest of people don’t have the best of everything, they just make the best of everything they have.” Unknown Author

    1. Great comment, Deon. I was caught up in the end times fear of the mark of the beast during the seventies and eighties. The cultic house church I attended taught that we wouldn’t be raptured out of the world before the great tribulation but we would be on the run from the government. I bought some survival gear but it was hardly enough for me to live off the land. Now I know that people misread and misused the Bible to keep me in a state of dependence on them. Now I take Christ’s advice and only worry about today and to trust in him. By the way, “preppers” and conspiracy theorists are still trying to panic people into buying freeze-dried food. Though it’s good to have extra food on hand in case of storms, and though I have my “bug out” bag in case I need to leave home due to an emergency, I’m not worried about the future. I know in whose hands it’s in.

Leave a Reply

