WHAT I MEAN BY “STUPID PEOPLE”

Image

Visitors to my home often remark about this sign that I stuck on my door. They feel intimidated by its warning and hesitate to enter. They need not fear. Since they don’t engage in the activities I’m about to list, they’re more than welcome at my house.

What I feel the sign means is that I don’t want anybody in my home who doesn’t learn from past lapses of reason. One example is drunken individuals. I’ve made the mistake before of letting a CB friend bring a bottle of whisky to my room once. When my former neighbour wanted me to hide him from his domineering sister, I refused to let him in. I remembered what happened in 1978 and I didn’t want a replay of it in 2005.

Another kind of stupid person is one who keeps getting involved in get-rich-quick schemes. I was burned several times by going along with chain letters and Amway. Never again do I want to fall for pyramid schemes which only enrich the folks at the top.

Neither do I want to room with anybody ever again. My sister Diane needed a place to stay in Edmonton during August of 1975. She pleaded with me and said that she hadn’t yet found a place to stay so she could work in Edmonton. After I agreed, she brought two other teenage girls that she was friends with to live in my room. I ended up sleeping in a room off the laundry room. They also spent my money and even objected when I wanted to hear my Bible tapes. September couldn’t have come fast enough that year.

Mom also wanted me to pool my money with hers in one bank account on the theory that it would generate higher interest. No matter how I explained the workings of the banking system, she still insisted she was right. Fortunately for me, I had the sense not to fall for that ridiculous idea.

Neither do I want to join any cultic church which assumes it has advanced knowledge and secret revelations. I wrote about how soul-destroying that was for me in How I Was Razed: A Journey from Cultism to Christianity. Read more about this remarkable testimony of God’s providential guidance at Amazon, Barnes & Noble, or Virtual Bookworm Publishers.

Author: bruce Atchison - author

I'm a legally-blind freelance writer as well as the author of three memoirs and scores of articles. Contact me for details.

Leave a Reply

