WHY I WEAR HAREWEAR

Image

Followers of my blog certainly are aware of how much I love rabbits. With their charming natures, inquisitive minds, and cute faces, bunnies are irresistibly sweet. It’s no wonder then that I collect rabbit-shaped and rabbit-related items.

Where there’s demand, there are generally people ready to supply it. A rabbit-owning lady named Carla Kallan decided in the late nineties to make pottery and market other rabbit-related items to the folks on the PetBunny e-mail list. This was the perfect opportunity for me to buy some great gear, the proceeds of which would benefit shelter bunnies.

About seven years ago, Carla asked list members if they wanted to have Harewear tote bags. After taking our requests and designing pictures for the canvas bags, she hired a local manufacturer to make them. I bought eight large totes with zippers as well as two smaller ones without zippers.

I found the zipper totes most useful when I rode the Greyhound bus to Edmonton. When I returned to Radway laden with goodies from the dollar store, the zippers kept my merchandise from falling out all over the overhead rack. When Thorhild County helped the local seniors and me by taking us to towns with grocery stores, the zippered bags kept things from falling out. They also helped the driver distinguish my purchases from those of other shoppers.

Additionally, the bags were great conversation starters. When people remarked about the cute pictures, I told them about what wonderful pets bunnies are. They were amazed to learn that rabbits can be litter-trained and how affectionate they are.

I also purchased some T-shirts and two hoodies with rabbits on them. People remarked about how cute the bunnies looked. That was my opening to tell people the amazing facts I learned while having rabbits as house pets.

Apart from the pleasure those items gave me, I also felt glad that my purchases helped support shelter bunnies. People often get conned into buying under-aged rabbits at Easter, only to find that these creatures need plenty of attention.  When the kids tire of their new pet and the parents grow weary of caring for him or her, the poor creature gets dumped at an animal shelter. Many are euthanized because there isn’t enough room to keep them.

I also owe Carla an apology for using her “I don’t do Windows” image in one of my posts. Visit her Harewear site and find out more about supporting needy bunnies. Carla hasn’t done much lately with the site but she still maintains it. In the past, she’s posted photos of her clothing, tote bags, and pottery bowls.

As for my products, my first two memoirs are on the Bruce Atchison’s books page. How I Was Razed: A Journey from Cultism to Christianity is available from Amazon, Barnes & Noble, and Virtual Bookworm Publishers.

 

The photo on this post is courtesy of Morgan Johnstone, the Radway Public Library librarian.

Author: bruce Atchison - author

I'm a legally-blind freelance writer as well as the author of three memoirs and scores of articles. Contact me for details.

One thought on “WHY I WEAR HAREWEAR”

  1. I used to wear catwear. I once had a pair of slippers with cat faces on the toes. These did not impress my friend’s cat. You can read more about that at http://abbiescorner.wordpress.com/2011/10/10/invasion-of-the-upside-down-cats/.

    I also had a sweatshirt with a tactile drawing of a cat and tactile cat scratches on the front. I’m wearing that shirt on the front cover of my poetry collection, How to Build a Better Mousetrap: Recollections and Reflections of a Family Caregiver. You can view that at http://www.abbiejohnsontaylor.com/bettermousetrap.htm. Thanks, Bruce, you might have given me an idea for another blog post.

Leave a Reply

