HOW DEPENDENT WRITERS ARE ON COMPUTERS

Image

On this date in 2008, I sat down after supper and turned on my 486 PC. Instead of the usual two beeps and the sound of software loading, I heard a brief beep and then nothing happened. Only the hard drive spun and the vent elation fan whirred.

Turning the computer off and on didn’t clear up the problem either. I knew something had gone seriously wrong with my old faithful electronic workhorse but I didn’t know what it was.

Since the spring of 1993, I had used WordPerfect 5.1 for DOS to write my articles, letters, and books. By 2008, I remained devoted to that old program. It did so many things that Windows-based programs did plus it had features that the others didn’t. I purchased a Windows-based computer in 2000 but I used it chiefly for research and e-mail.

With my trusty DOS machine down, I needed to find a replacement. I placed an advertisement in local papers asking for old PCs. Though I bought about 7 machines, they were all early Pentium’s. My Mastertouch screen reader software refused to  work on those machines. A friend gave me an old 386 tower but its CMOS battery was dead.

An e-mail pal offered to help me replace the dead video board in my old faithful PC, giving me hope for a while. Unfortunately, she stopped sending me instructions after I got the machine apart. I didn’t know where one crucial wire attached so I gave up trying to fix it.

A blind friend came to my rescue by sending me her copy of Vocal Eyes 3.0. This DOS-based screen reader program worked on the early Pentium machines, giving me access to my manuscript copy of How I Was Razed: A Journey from Cultism to Christianity. Though three months had passed since that fateful evening when the video board died, I still spent four more years working on the book.

For more information on the remarkable story of God’s gracious leading in my life, visit Amazon, Barnes & Noble, or Virtual Bookworm Publishers. As for my previous two paperbacks, the Bruce Atchison’s books page has information on them as well as PayPal shopping cart buttons.

Author: bruce Atchison - author

I'm a legally-blind freelance writer as well as the author of How I Was Razed, Deliverance from Jericho, and When a Man Loves a Rabbit. Two of those memoirs are available on my Blogspot page. How I Was Razed is available through Amazon and at the www.virtualbookworm.com page.

Leave a Reply

