THE MYSTERY OF STAY-AT-HOME GROWN-UP CHILDREN

Image

A caller on a local talk show spoke about his twenty-eight-year-old son who refused to leave home. He asked the two police officers who hosted the “Cop Talk” show what he could do to get this abusive man out of his house. Both cops spoke about how it could be the caller’s wife who enabled this son to stay rent free at their place.

I find it amazing that any adult would want to stay home and have the nerve to live there for free. Some adult children can’t find apartments to live in but they usually chip in for the food and utilities. From what I heard, this vile-tempered son seemed to think his parents owed him a living.

I’m grateful that I attended a special high school twenty miles from my parent’s home. Forty-one years ago, at the age of sixteen, I had to learn to cook, clean, and shop for my own groceries. Being away from my nagging mother felt great, though I felt being on my own was a bit intimidating at first. I soon grew accustomed to it and came to enjoy being an adult.

My father paid the rent for two years, then I applied for social assistance. After that, I found a job and felt proud each time I paid my own rent. When my dad died in 1987, I put my inheritance money down on a house.

Though some folks dread living alone, I adore it. I have the whole place to myself and everything I put somewhere stays there. This is especially important for visually-impaired folks like myself as I find it hard to find lost items. Having somebody rearrange my things was always annoying to me when I was a child. Now I’m free of that and I feel much happier.

I mentioned my struggle to be independent in How I Was Razed: A Journey from Cultism to Christianity. This 248-page testimony of God’s providential care is available in paperback and e-book form. Visit Amazon, Barnes & Noble, and Virtual Bookworm Publishers for details. I also have two other paperbacks at the Bruce Atchison’s books page.

Author: bruce Atchison - author

I'm a legally-blind freelance writer as well as the author of How I Was Razed, Deliverance from Jericho, and When a Man Loves a Rabbit. Two of those memoirs are available on my Blogspot page. How I Was Razed is available through Amazon and at the www.virtualbookworm.com page.

Leave a Reply

