IS SUICIDE MURDER?

Image

Though it might sound absurd, suicide is the murder of oneself. We tend to think of our lives as our own but are they really? Let’s look at the subject logically.

First of all, we didn’t create ourselves. We just found ourselves in a family with a mother, father, or both. It was our parents who came together to start us living. Therefore we can’t claim that we aren’t self-existent.

Since murdering a fellow human being is a crime, why shouldn’t the killing of oneself also be a criminal act? Ontologically, we all are homo sapiens. Most humans live in communities that consider everybody to be equal under the law. Why then should individuals think that their lives are not worth the same as their fellows?

I’ve heard people say that suicide is a permanent solution to a temporary problem. This makes sense in light of our life experience. Even the worst of circumstances comes to an end sooner or later. I’m sure we’ve all experienced times when we wished for death so we could escape a bad situation. Years later, we see that we would have missed many good experiences afterward had we terminated our lives.

There’s also a spiritual dimension to our lives that must be considered by us all. Since we didn’t create ourselves or our parents, who did? Empirical science indicates that this universe, from the smallest sub-atomic particle to the largest black hole, had to have been made. Random chance couldn’t even create a single protein molecule during the age of the universe. Yet we see intricate design even in single cell creatures. Since the universe was made, we need to consider who made it and why.

Among all the belief systems humanity has believed in, only Judaism and Christianity correspond to reality. I haven’t enough room to discuss why here. The reason I’m writing about suicide is that it’s been four years since my neighbour Grant hung himself in his basement. He couldn’t face his demanding sister anymore, according to what I’ve heard, and he had no source of hope in his life. I also feel guilty for not sharing the gospel with him. Even so, he chose to murder himself rather than getting help for his alcoholism and overbearing sister problems.

In How I Was Razed: A Journey from Cultism to Christianity, I wrote about how I often wished for death. God led me to the realization that he valued me much higher than those who criticized  me. Read more about this inspiring testimony at Amazon, Barnes & Noble, and Virtual Bookworm Publishers. My previous memoirs are on  the Bruce Atchison’s books page.

Author: bruce Atchison - author

I'm a legally-blind freelance writer as well as the author of three memoirs and scores of articles. Contact me for details.

Leave a Reply

