HOW A “PEBBLE” HELPS SIGHT-IMPARED PEOPLE READ

Image

Technology certainly has come a long way when it comes to vision aids. Time was when partially sighted students had only optical magnifying glasses, if they were fortunate. Now companies such as Enhanced Vision sell electronic magnifiers which can change the colour of the print and background of text and even take a snapshot.

In June of 2012, I purchased a Pebble-mini electronic magnifying reader from Aroga, a visual aids company in Vancouver, British Columbia.  There was a time when eight-power magnifying glasses worked for me but my vision worsened after 2009. Even a twelve-power set became difficult to use. Imagine my delight when I turned on the Pebble-mini and was able to read even fine print on a CD easily. I could also capture phone or serial numbers with ease and be able to dial or input them to the computer without a lot of hunting for the number. Additionally, the Pebble Mini can upload images to a PC.

The Pebble-mini has seven different colour viewing combinations, three of which can be reset to whichever one works best for you. I prefer yellow print on a black background. The full-colour setting is great for looking at photographs while the grey scale and reversed colour settings can make even faint print readable.

Another nice feature is that the Pebble-mini comes with a lanyard. This prevents the device from falling to the floor if it slips out of your pocket. I use my reader when I go grocery shopping or on occasional outings to restaurants.

The Pebble mini fits nicely into an adult hand and has only five buttons and a thumb wheel. The internal battery lasts fairly long as well and recharges quickly.

The only improvements I could suggest for this reader is rubber around the edges for easier gripping and a separate mode button. The current arrangement can be confusing to novice users.

More information on the Pebble-mini can be found at the Enhanced Vision site.

I mentioned my vision problems in all three of my memoirs. Visit Bruce Atchison’s books for details on my first two paperbacks. How I Was Razed: A Journey from Cultism to Christianity is available in e-book and paperback from Amazon, Barnes & Noble, and Virtual Bookworm Publishers.

Author: bruce Atchison - author

I'm a legally-blind freelance writer as well as the author of three memoirs and scores of articles. Contact me for details.

One thought on “HOW A “PEBBLE” HELPS SIGHT-IMPARED PEOPLE READ”

Leave a Reply

