WITNESSING THE WITNESSES WITNESSING

ImageI’m sure that we all have had this happen before. Two nicely dressed men or women knock on our doors, usually on a Saturday morning. One will ask some question such as, “Is society doomed to catastrophic destruction in the near future?” Then they’ll try to give you some sort of tract or brochure about the end of the world.

Though the questions sometimes vary, the technique is the same. Jehovah’s Witnesses are specially trained to engage non-believers with beguiling kindness. Then they urge potential converts to become more and more involved with the local Kingdom Hall. By misapplying scriptures and misdirecting innocent seekers, they soon lock them into the mindset that they’re in a superior church and all others are apostate.

I’ve never been part of the Jehovah’s Witness cult but I was locked into a similar deception. In 1971, a friend invited me to his Wednesday night Bible study. Because nobody mentored me after I gave my life to Christ in 1969, I had no idea about cults and their crafty deceptions. Consequently, I believed that God led me to an elite congregation. The house church leader told me so many enticing tales that I believed he was sent from God and received revelations of advanced truth.

The house church leaders soon found fault with things I did. Rock music, CB radio, and other innocent per suits were deemed by them to be of the devil. The leaders had many superstitions as well regarding objects which they assumed that demons could attach themselves to. They even convinced me to throw out some books by comedian Spike Milligan because of their supposed satanic attraction.

What broke me free from that controlling pseudo-church was the elders” continual condemnation. After many prayers and laying on of hands, my poor vision actually worsened. I became so angry at this demeaning treatment that I stormed out of that house and never attended another service.

The Witness at Your Door and The Witness Goes Out are two dramatizations of real-life situations. Both DVDs demonstrate how sincere seekers at vulnerable points in their lives are taken advantage of by the Watchtower Society devotees and how those victims broke free. Find out more about these fine movies at Jeremiah Films..

Please also check out How I Was Razed: A Journey from Cultism to Christianity  at Amazon, Barnes & Noble, and Virtual Bookworm Publishers. It’s my testimony of how God led me out of a toxic church and into a proper understanding of his loving grace.

Author: bruce Atchison - author

I'm a legally-blind freelance writer as well as the author of three memoirs and scores of articles. Contact me for details.

Leave a Reply

