ANGELS AND DEMONS GO BOWLING

Image

Thunderstorms are a source of fear to some children and entertainment to others. Being one who loved watching the lightning as a child, I pity those who are afraid of it. Of course a healthy respect for severe weather is wise but a phobia of it can panic some folks unnecessarily.

In my home province of Alberta, July is the stormiest month. To me, a thunderstorm was great entertainment. I couldn’t understand why Mom could think that lightning would strike us through the window. It never struck anywhere near our home.

As the anvil-shaped thunderhead would move in, my sister and I loved standing in the yard and watching the lightning. Once it started to rain, we went indoors and watched the storm through the living room picture window. When we saw a bolt of lightning, we pretended it was the static from a bowling ball thrown by one of the angels or demons in the sky. The thunder was the pins going down. “Go angels go!” we used to chant as the rain poured outside. During the hour the storm thundered over our house, we had a great time while Mom just shook her head at us.

I spoke to the bank clerk in Radway about my childhood love of thunderstorms. She also pretended as a child that the angels were bowling but the lightning was God taking pictures of her. I guess neither of us lost our love of storms as we both love watching them. Unfortunately, I have too many trees by my house to see God’s light show easily. Even so, the rolling thunder and brilliant flashes of light still thrill me as they did long ago.

I missed thunderstorms when I was exiled to Jericho Hill School for the Deaf and Blind. I only saw and heard one flash of lightning and one peel of thunder during all the time I was there. My Deliverance from Jericho: Six Years in a Blind School memoir describes what life was like in that infamous institution. Read more about it on the Bruce Atchison’s Books page.

I have a new book out called How I Was Razed: A Journey from Cultism to Christianity. It’s the testimony of God’s providential guidance in my life. Amazon, Barnes & Noble, and Virtual Bookworm Publishers distribute the e-book and paperback versions.

Author: bruce Atchison - author

I'm a legally-blind freelance writer as well as the author of How I Was Razed, Deliverance from Jericho, and When a Man Loves a Rabbit. Two of those memoirs are available on my Blogspot page. How I Was Razed is available through Amazon and at the www.virtualbookworm.com page.

4 thoughts on “ANGELS AND DEMONS GO BOWLING”

  1. Bruce, I really enjoyed this reflection today. Brings back many good memories of listening to the thunder and feeling the rain and experiencing the lightening as a child, too. God was having a bowling party, according to my Dad.

  2. Sometimes, even with a foundation in faith, the imagination of child is priceless. We learn fear, but if we allow our minds to see the world the way we want early on, then as adults we have less to overcome.

Leave a Reply

