HOW MOM MADE HOUSEWORK FUN

Image

Work is one of those necessary evils in life. Even so, it need not be tedious. My mom taught that lesson a few times during our childhood.

Doing the dishes was one chore none of us liked. Mom actually let us make a game of washing and drying them rather than scolding us. We loved playing “flying saucer.” We would take two plates and place one upside down on top of the other. Then we’d lower both into the wash water and laugh at the bubbles coming out between the plates.

Diane and I used to have races to see who could wash and dry the fastest. Not only was that fun but no dishes were broken. I’m surprised Mom would let us get away with that but she did.

As we grew older, we had many good conversations while dealing with the mountain of dishes that piled up. By sharing the work and being able to talk while working, we siblings grew closer together.

Washing the walls was another odious chore. One summer evening, we plugged in Mom’s portable record player, put a Beatles record on, and scrubbed to the music. It helped pass the time and we heard our favourite tunes.

I’m glad Mom let us enjoy work rather than endure it. It made us feel more like a family and brought us together for a while. Some parents are strict about work and they make it into drudgery.

I wrote about how I missed much of my family’s history in Deliverance from Jericho: Six Years in a Blind School. It and my debut memoir are at the Bruce Atchison’s books page.

I have a new book out called How I Was Razed: A Journey from Cultism to Christianity. Read more about this inspiring testimony of God’s amazing leading at Amazon, Barnes & Noble, and Virtual Bookworm Publishers.

Author: bruce Atchison - author

I'm a legally-blind freelance writer as well as the author of How I Was Razed, Deliverance from Jericho, and When a Man Loves a Rabbit. Two of those memoirs are available on my Blogspot page. How I Was Razed is available through Amazon and at the www.virtualbookworm.com page.

Leave a Reply

