A SYLVAN ADVENTURE, PART 5

Image

Children learn fast that this world is filled with nasty creatures. All of us have been bitten by mosquitoes or stung by wasps at a young age. Our illusions of a world where everything is harmless and friendly are quickly shattered through such experiences.

My sister Diane certainly learned that lesson one sunlit day when we vacationed at the Sylvan Lake resort during July of 1961.

As we stood on the beach after swimming in the lake, Diane noticed a pain in her right thigh. Looking down, she screamed when she saw a blood sucker gorging itself.

Mom and Dad tried to make Diane hold still so they could pull the wretched creature off. As Dad tried to pull the blood sucker, Mom warned him not to lest its head separate from its body. Dad took out his lighter from his pants pocket and flicked it open. As Mom tried to hold my panicking sister still, Dad touched the tail end of the creature with the lighter’s flame. It let go, ending the crisis.

All this happened in a matter of seconds but to us children, it seemed like a long time. From then on, we felt reluctant to go in the water, especially by the boat dock where Diane was bitten.

Three years and two months later, I learned that adults weren’t as trustworthy as I thought. I suddenly found myself five-hundred miles from home in a school for the blind. I couldn’t believe it when a boy told me we wouldn’t go back home until Christmas. Read more about my shocking experience at the Bruce Atchison’s books link.

I have a new book out called How I Was Razed: A Journey from Cultism to Christianity. Read about the providential guidance of God in my life at Amazon, Barnes & Noble, and Virtual Bookworm Publishers.A review of How I Was Razed is at the Amazon review link.

Author: bruce Atchison - author

I'm a legally-blind freelance writer as well as the author of three memoirs and scores of articles. Contact me for details.

3 thoughts on “A SYLVAN ADVENTURE, PART 5”

  1. This reminds me of the time my younger brother got a tick in his back. We weren’t on vacation when it happened. We were living in Sheridan, Wyoming, and I was about twelve or thirteen, and Andy was about five or six. We’d just returned from the YMCA where we took swimming lessons. While Dad called the doctor’s office and asked what to do, Mother extracted the tick from Andy’s back with a hot sewing needle. After that, I was afraid to go to the Y for swimming lessons, but Mother assured me ticks are more commonly found in the woods than in public swimming pools.

  2. I have been made a meal of by a few suckers in my time, and it ain’t no picnic. well, maybe for the blood thirsty suckers.

    Thank goodness for lighters.

    Good post.

    dp

    Deon Lyons Author of Sully Street Now Available in Paperback @ The Children’s Book Cellar, Downtown Waterville Also Available in Paperback and Digital at the Following Link: http://www.amazon.com/dp/B00C4ZHD0O

    email dplion@roadrunner.com Personal Website http://www.dplyons.com Personal Blog http://www.dplyons.wordpress.com Facebook Page: https://www.facebook.com/deon.lyons.9

    “The happiest of people don’t have the best of everything, they just make the best of everything they have.” Unknown Author

    _____

Leave a Reply

