A SYLVAN ADVENTURE, PART 3

Image

How true it is that fear makes cowards of us all. Many a person has had to lie in order to avoid some sort of calamity. When I was almost five years old, I found myself in the position of either losing a toy or my integrity.

One sunny afternoon, when my family visited the resort town of Sylvan Lake for two weeks, I wandered off alone. By one building, I saw a round wooden object about four feet across. I suppose it might have been a cover for a well but I’m not sure.

I sat down on this chocolate brown wooden object and opened a box of Cracker Jack popcorn. After extracting the toy which was included in every package and putting it in my back pocket, I happily munched the contents of the box.

A group of older children strolled up to me. One of them said, “Hey little boy, what a nice box of Cracker Jack you have there. Let me see your prize.”

I felt afraid as I looked at the large children who surrounded me. What could I do? “I didn’t find a prize,” I lied.

“Come on,” the leader of the group demanded, “there’s always a prize.”

Seizing my box of popcorn, he dumped it on the wooden thing I sat on. “No, there’s no prize there,” he said. As I stared at my popcorn, he warned, “You aren’t lying to us, are you?

“No,” I assured him, all the while hoping the boys wouldn’t search the pockets of my shorts.

As the mean kids strolled away, I struggled with indecision. Mom said I should never eat food that fell on the ground, yet I wanted the rest of my popcorn. Then I realized it wasn’t on the grass but on wooden boards. I picked at the popcorn until it was gone.

When I told Mom about what happen, she demanded what those kids looked like. Having poor eyesight and being frightened out of my wits, I couldn’t give her an answer. This made me feel worse since it let those boys go unpunished.

I wrote of other injustices in my life in Deliverance from Jericho: Six Years in a Blind School. Read more about how I was sent five-hundred miles from home for months at a time at the Bruce Atchison’s books link.

My newly-published e-book and paperback called How I Was Razed: A Journey from Cultism to Christianity is now out. Visit Amazon, Barnes & Noble, and Virtual Bookworm Publishers to learn about this amazing story of God’s providential care.

Author: bruce Atchison - author

I'm a legally-blind freelance writer as well as the author of How I Was Razed, Deliverance from Jericho, and When a Man Loves a Rabbit. Two of those memoirs are available on my Blogspot page. How I Was Razed is available through Amazon and at the www.virtualbookworm.com page.

Leave a Reply

