A Sylvan ADVENTURE, PART ONE

Image

What are your memories of childhood summer vacation trips? Were they like adventures? My family took only one holiday as a whole group, at least that I can remember.

I first realized that something different was happening when I saw Mom in the living room with Dad’s brown, leather suitcase. As she folded clothes and placed them inside it, I asked what she was doing. “We’re going on vacation to Sylvan Lake,” she replied. I hadn’t heard of this resort town before but I grew excited as mom explained how much fun we’d have there.

After what seemed like a long time, we arrived at a long building divided up into apartments. Dusk was falling as we climbed out of Dad’s Volkswagen and walked toward apartment number one. Dad had been given the wrong key so he returned to the office to get a new one while we waited. Having settled that problem, we entered our home away from home and settled in.

Children are often impressed with things that adults take for granted. The apartment had Melmac dishes and cups, something I’d never seen before. When Mom explained that those were unbreakable, I eagerly asked why we couldn’t have such wonderful plates and cups. Plastic dishes seemed like a much better than Mom’s fragile fine china. I begged her to buy some so we wouldn’t have to worry about breaking plates by accident.

As Mom put Diane, Roy, and me to bed, my mind was still filled with the wonder of dishes that couldn’t be broken. I didn’t know what tomorrow would bring but I knew it had to be good.

I’ve written about other family matters in a book called Deliverance from Jericho, Six Years in a Blind School. This paperback shows what life was like at Jericho Hill School for the Deaf and Blind. Read more about my matter-of-fact memoir at the Bruce Atchison’s books link.

I also wrote about my spiritual childhood in How I Was Razed: A Journey from Cultism to Christianity. Find out about God’s providential care at Amazon, Barnes & Noble, and Virtual Bookworm Publishers.

Author: bruce Atchison - author

I'm a legally-blind freelance writer as well as the author of three memoirs and scores of articles. Contact me for details.

Leave a Reply

