NEUTRINO THE RABBIT’S LAST STAND

Image

Most people don’t realize that rabbits can be opinionated. The thought of an angry bunny is so ridiculous that the members of Monty Python’s Flying Circus used that idea in their movie, The Holy Grail.

Another fact most folks don’t know is that rabbits can live to a ripe old age. Neutrino, pictured above, was ten years and a few months old on this date in 2008. The main floor of my house had become so hot that I feared for my rabbits’ health. I brought three pet carriers upstairs and put Deborah, Sierra, and Neutrino in each one. Both females took it in stride but not Neutrino. He thumped his hind foot repeatedly, even after I had taken all three bunnies to the basement

Four hours later, as the sun set, I felt that the house was cool enough to bring the rabbits upstairs. Deborah and Sierra felt happy to be back in their respective domains. Neutrino, on the other paw, thumped when he hopped out of his carrier. Then he gave me a murderous glare before hopping into his cardboard house. My irate fur sir sulked for almost an hour before coming out to eat some alfalfa pellets.

Though Neutrino expressed his displeasure at being confined in a carrier for a few hours, I couldn’t help but laugh. My crotchety little bunny   still had some fight left in his aging body. This show of defiance also became a precious memory to me. Neutrino passed away due to a seizure three weeks later. I felt, and still feel, privileged to have had such an elderly rabbit. He lived a total of 82 months with me. Though Neutrino was a brat at times, I still fondly remember his unique character.

I wrote part of Neutrino’s story in When a Man Loves a Rabbit: Learning and Living With Bunnies. Read more about this fascinating memoir at the Bruce Atchison’s books link.

I’ve just published a new paperback and e-book called How I Was Razed: A Journey from Cultism to Christianity. Visit Amazon, Barnes & Noble, and Virtual Bookworm Publishers to find out what providential miracles the Lord wrought in my life.

Author: bruce Atchison - author

I'm a legally-blind freelance writer as well as the author of How I Was Razed, Deliverance from Jericho, and When a Man Loves a Rabbit. Two of those memoirs are available on my Blogspot page. How I Was Razed is available through Amazon and at the www.virtualbookworm.com page.

2 thoughts on “NEUTRINO THE RABBIT’S LAST STAND”

Leave a Reply

