WHY CHILDREN FIND IT HARD TO UNDERSTAND NATIONAL HOLIDAYS

ImageOn a sunlit day in the early sixties, something strange happened. Nothing was on TV. I don’t mean that there were no programs worth watching. Both TV stations from Edmonton were off the air.

I turned the channel knob as I became increasingly puzzled and frustrated. “Mom,” I called, “Why is there nothing on TV?”

“It’s dominion Day today,” she explained. “Everybody his on holiday today.”

“Why?”

“Because it’s a holiday. People are celebrating Canada’s birthday.”

I don’t remember if I asked further questions but it seemed like Mom’s reply didn’t make sense. Being very young, I had no idea of what countries were. My mind didn’t grasp that I lived in a town, which was in a county, which was in a province, which was in a country, which was on a continent, which was on a planet, which was part of a star system, which was part of a galaxy, which was part of the universe. I knew only of the few places my parents visited and the local areas where I played.

Though I’m single and never had children to raise, I’m sure that parents must have difficulty explaining national holidays to young kids. When my sister Linda couldn’t understand that Alberta was part of Canada, I explained that it was like a room in a house. “Alberta is like this living room and Canada is like this house,” I explained as we sat on the couch. That seemed to satisfy her.

I’m not sure if other siblings or parents used the analogy but it worked in my case. If anybody who reads this and uses the room-within-a-house analogy and it helps children understand the concept, please let me know.

Though I haven’t written a book about my early childhood, I did publish Deliverance from Jericho: Six Years in a Blind School. At the tender age of seven, the government sent me five-hundred miles from home to an uncaring institution. Read more about this compelling memoir at the Bruce Atchison’s books link. My debut paperback called When a Man Loves a Rabbit: Learning and Living with Bunnies is also featured at that link

I recently published an e-book and paperback called How I Was Razed: A Journey from Cultism to Christianity. Read more about this testimony of God’s providence at Amazon, Barnes & Noble, and Virtual Bookworm Publishers.

Author: bruce Atchison - author

I'm a legally-blind freelance writer as well as the author of three memoirs and scores of articles. Contact me for details.

Leave a Reply

