COULD I HAVE BOUGHT STOLEN GOODS?

Image

One piece of advice given by police is not to buy merchandise from people in bars. Though I never frequent those establishments, I wonder now about purchases I made from friends on the CB. They could have legitimately purchased the items and then decided to sell them later. On the other hand, they could have stolen the merchandise I bought from them and pretended it was theirs.

The most expensive purchase I made from somebody on the CB was a colour TV. Various friends had given me their second-hand black-and-white sets for a decade before I decided to rent a colour TV from Granada TV Rentals. I loved being able to see programs in full colour so much that I spoke of it to a friend on the radio. He said he had fixed a colour TV but the owner refused to pay him for his work. He said he’d sell it to me for a hundred-and-fifty dollars and invited me to see the set for myself.

After seeing how well it worked and the condition the TV was in, I handed him the cash. Then he drove me home and carried in the set.

I used that TV for about 10 years. Then the red and blue picture tube signal began to fade, making everything green. I gave that set to the Salvation Army when I moved to my condo. By that time, I had purchased a new colour set so the old one collected dust in my music studio.

Though there are legitimate individuals selling their items on eBay, it’s still a case of “buyer beware.” If you’re concerned that some good deal might be stolen property, check up on the seller. Online searches can turn up so much.

The same advice applies when choosing a church. Most are good but some, like the house church I once attended, are fraudulent. They teach the ideas of people instead of what the Bible says. That’s why I wrote How I Was Razed: A Journey from Cultism to Christianity. I want people to avoid abusive churches which teach lies and abuse their congregants. Visit Amazon, Barnes & Noble, and Virtual Bookworm Publishers for details. See my two previous paperbacks at the Bruce Atchison’s books link.

Author: bruce Atchison - author

I'm a legally-blind freelance writer as well as the author of three memoirs and scores of articles. Contact me for details.

Leave a Reply

