GOD SOMETIMES SAYS “YES.”

Image

Does God ever say “yes” to our requests? That was what I asked myself many times when I attended a legalistic and cult-like house church for fifteen years. Time after time, I begged the Lord for good sight. No matter how hard I worked to quench all doubts and believe I would receive my vision, nothing happened. In fact, I had a hemorrhage in my left eye in 1988.

The problem wasn’t with God or my faith but the vicious lie that the cult church taught. According to their so-called anointed teacher from God, I lusted for good sight. The Lord refused to give me twenty-twenty vision because of that supposed sin. Furthermore, he and the woman in whose house we met kept insisting I keep asking for my healing whenever prayer was offered.

What then is the criteria for receiving gifts from God? Psalm 37:4 sums it up nicely. “So will your delight be in the Lord, and he will give you your heart’s desires.” As a loving father wouldn’t give harmful things to his children maliciously, so the heavenly Father gives us what will benefit us. Since I was deluded by a false prophet, God knew that I would be convinced of the lie I was taught if my sight was given to me.

What I did receive from our heavenly Father is far more precious than a few decades of perfect sight. Thanks to his providence, my government job allowed me to receive a substantial pay-out. Being a clerical worker, Treasury Board paid me less than somebody in other  lines of government employment. I paid a large down payment on a house in a tiny hamlet and fixed up the septic system when I received the equalization pay-out. I had cried out to the Lord for a quiet place to live. He worked things out so that I would be able to buy the house that nobody else had put money on for themselves.

To me, this house is a miracle. It was my poor vision that let me be employed with the government. It was the payment that allowed me to have this house. It’s the pension that I live on that lets me have enough. As Proverbs 30:8 and 9 says,  “Put far from me all false and foolish things: do not give me great wealth or let me be in need, but give me only enough food: For fear that if I am full, I may be false to you and say, Who is the Lord? or if I am poor, I may become a thief, using the name of my God wrongly.” God knew that I would use my healing to gain popularity and I would become proud. He also kept me from abject poverty through my pension. Thanks to his great wisdom, I’m happy with what I have.

I wrote about that aberrant house church in How I Was Razed: A Journey from Cultism to Christianity. Check it out at Amazon, Barnes & Noble, and Virtual Bookworm Publishers. My two previous paperbacks are at the Bruce Atchison’s books link on the left hand side of the page.

Author: bruce Atchison - author

I'm a legally-blind freelance writer as well as the author of three memoirs and scores of articles. Contact me for details.

One thought on “GOD SOMETIMES SAYS “YES.””

Leave a Reply

