IS A BIRD ON A BALCONY WORTH TWO IN THE BUSH?

ImageI’m grateful to my mom for her love of birds. Her example of caring for the ones who collided with our picture window helped me in 1997. On the fifth of June, I noticed something on the balcony of my high rise apartment. Looking closer, I saw it was a bird lying on its back. I could see it move slightly but I didn’t know if it would fly away on its own or not.

Then the memory of what Mom did for stunned birds kicked in. Cutting a hole in the lid of a small cardboard box, I walked onto the balcony and gently pushed the bird into it. The poor creature was very much alive,objecting loudly to being incarcerated. Once in the box, the bird settled down.

I didn’t know what sort of bird it was, though I found out later it was a young robin. I set the box on my bed and hoped that would help it recover. Then I searched the Internet for writing opportunities. Periodically, I peeked through the hole at the bird to see if it was still alive.

After lunch, I thought the bird might be thirsty. I filled a hamster food bowl with water and carefully placed it in the box. When I checked a half hour later, the bird was sitting in the bowl as if it was a bird bath. I wisely left the poor creature alone, figuring it wanted to cool off.

Of course I couldn’t resist stroking the bird’s round, brown head and examining its body. Those feathers felt so soft and I marveled at its delicate wings. The bird made no protest at this treatment so I assumed it was acceptable.

After supper, the bird seemed no better or worse.  I decided it might be time to release the poor creature. When I placed the box on the balcony, the bird refused to leave it. I tipped it on its side so that the robin would slide out. The bird walked around the balcony and, to my horror, stepped through one of the openings in the balcony wall. I rode the elevator to the ground floor and searched the grounds below my apartment. Finding no dead bird, I concluded it must have flown off.

Though I’m not a “bird person,” I do care about animals. Rabbits are my favourite, followed closely by cats. I wrote about my passion for bunnies in When a Man Loves a Rabbit: Learning and Living With Bunnies. Check it out on my Bruce Atchison’s books page, along with my Deliverance from Jericho memoir.

I also have a new e-book and paperback out called How I Was Razed: A Journey from Cultism to Christianity. Visit Amazon, Barnes & Noble, and Virtual Bookworm publishers to discover the compelling story of God’s providence in my life.

Author: bruce Atchison - author

I'm a legally-blind freelance writer as well as the author of How I Was Razed, Deliverance from Jericho, and When a Man Loves a Rabbit. Two of those memoirs are available on my Blogspot page. How I Was Razed is available through Amazon and at the www.virtualbookworm.com page.

Leave a Reply

