WHEN IS RAIN WORTH A MILLION DOLLARS?

Image

Rain certainly seems to ruin much of our fun, doesn’t it? Pick nicks planned long before the date get canceled. Baseball and most other games are also rescheduled, football being the exception. Nobody enjoys standing in the rain to watch a parade or to hear a politician speak.

Eleven years ago, the rain was more than welcomed here in Alberta. May had been an exceptionally dry month. A number of wildfires blazed, encouraged by the gusty winds. One fire burned only a mile from my house. If the wind had shifted from the southeast to the southwest, my beloved home would have been consumed.

Ralph Klein, Alberta’s premiere, called it a “million-dollar rain.” It saved many acres from being burned up. The rain also helped the crops of worried farmers to sprout and grow. Gardeners sighed, relieved that their precious seedlings and sprouts were being watered by clouds rather than the garden hose.

The cooler temperatures and moist air were a relief for people too. For most of May, daytime temperatures hovered around thirty degrees Celsius. That’s about ninety Fahrenheit. Most Albertans don’t have air conditioning in their homes since we rarely get hot weather.

For me, the scent of rain-soaked leaves and plants is a special treat. With Alberta being a dry province, we don’t always have the showers that cause trees to give off that lovely aroma. I especially love spring when the new leaves grow on the trees. If somebody manufactured an air freshener that smelled like that, I’d buy it by the case.

Throughout my life, I’ve loved walking through forests and along ravine park trails. I wrote about my childhood experiences of the wood behind the classrooms in Deliverance from Jericho: Six Years in a Blind School. It, and When a Man Loves a Rabbit, are featured on my Bruce Atchison’s book link on the left side of the page.

I also have a new book out called How I Was Razed: A Journey from Cultism to Christianity. Visit Amazon, Barnes & Noble, and Virtual Bookworm Publishers for details on this inspiring story of God’s patient grace.

Author: bruce Atchison - author

I'm a legally-blind freelance writer as well as the author of three memoirs and scores of articles. Contact me for details.

Leave a Reply

