WHY SAFETY DEPOSIT BOXES ARE A WISE IDEA .

Image

Wildfires never seem to burn big cities. News bulletins usually report small towns being destroyed by fire but rarely are there reports of large metropolitan areas decimated by flames.

So what has this to do with safety deposit boxes? Back in May of 2002, prairie fires raged across the province. It was the third year of lower-than-normal precipitation. Worse yet, certain drivers disregarded the warnings and flicked their cigarette buts out their car windows into the tinder-dry weeds.

On the day before life-giving rain fell, the temperature was 28 degrees Celsius (88 degrees Fahrenheit) and a strong southeast wind was fanning the flames. One fire was only a mile away from my house. I knew if the wind shifted to the southwest, I’d have to run for my life.

As the scorching wind roared outside, I prayed fervently that it wouldn’t change. I listened attentively to the radio scanner to find out where the fire was and which direction it was heading.

Complicating matters, I had three house rabbits and no transportation. I called a friend from church and asked if he could help me evacuate if the fire changed direction. He agreed, putting my mind at ease.

At church next Sunday, the pastor gave thanks to the Lord for the rain. Afterward, a friend told me how she franticly stomped out little fires that burned just a few meters from her farm house. There too, God helped by sparing her home.

Soon after this frightening experience, I rented a safety deposit box at a branch of my bank. In it, I placed all my important papers, disks containing my crucial writing files, and copies of my electronic music compositions. Having all those important articles there gave me some peace of mind. If I did lose everything in a future wildfire, at least my important documents would be saved.

Though services such as Carbonite and Dropbox are handy, they can’t replace the physical documents such as birth certificates, diplomas, and the like. I still have my safety deposit box. Thankfully, I haven’t had the need to open it so I could retrieve my house deed and other documents which insurance companies might need.

I didn’t mention this incident in my newly-published How I Was Razed book but I did write about my journey from cultic superstition to the freedom I enjoy in Christ. Visit Amazon, Barnes & Noble, or Virtual Bookworm Publishers to find out more about my amazing testimony of God’s grace.

Author: bruce Atchison - author

I'm a legally-blind freelance writer as well as the author of How I Was Razed, Deliverance from Jericho, and When a Man Loves a Rabbit. Two of those memoirs are available on my Blogspot page. How I Was Razed is available through Amazon and at the www.virtualbookworm.com page.

Leave a Reply

