WHAT CLIMATE CHANGE?

Image

So much hot air has been spewed about climate change that it’s amazing the earth hasn’t overheated. A growing crowd of climate scientists are finding that the environment is actually cooling since 1997. From my own experiences with spring coming so late the past few years, global cooling makes much more sense than heating to me.

The climate has always been changing. Hundreds of millions of years ago, the land my house presently sits on was a tropical forest. Later on in history, it was covered with a mile-thick ice sheet. There was a time in Greenland, about eleven-hundred years ago, when the Vikings were farming the land. A few hundred years later, the mini-ice age gripped Europe. From around 1670 to 1721, the sun had no sun spots on its surface. That corresponded with another stretch of cold weather in Europe and a drought in the southwest part of what would become America.

People also have short memories. My mom showed me a photograph of her family’s farm house taken on May 15, 1945. A heavy layer of snow fell overnight, producing an odd effect of leafy trees covered in snow. I thought this was a rare weather event until 1987. On the Victoria Day long weekend, I woke up to snow covering everything. About six inches of the white stuff fell, breaking many tree limbs and downing power lines. I ventured out and took many photos of the nearby Mill Creek Ravine Park.

The same thing happened again on the Tuesday after the May long weekend. I had been in my yard on the weekend, raking the lawn and digging up the garden soil. The snow began falling in the morning and by the end of the day, we had about six inches. Many trees were damaged by the wet snow that day as well.

During both dumps of snow, the white stuff hung around for a few days. I’ve also noticed that We Albertans can expect some sort of storm during May. Only during the drought of 200-2002 did we have no dump of rain or snow in May. This leads me to believe that the climate will always do odd things at times.

In My new book called How I Was Razed: A Journey from Cultism to Christianity, I mentioned many times when I thought the weather portended soon-coming disaster. Decades later, we’re still here and doing just fine. For more information on God’s amazing work in my life, visit Amazon, Barnes & Noble, and Virtual Bookworm Publishers. My previous two paperbacks are featured on the Bruce Atchison’s books page.

Author: bruce Atchison - author

I'm a legally-blind freelance writer as well as the author of How I Was Razed, Deliverance from Jericho, and When a Man Loves a Rabbit. Two of those memoirs are available on my Blogspot page. How I Was Razed is available through Amazon and at the www.virtualbookworm.com page.

2 thoughts on “WHAT CLIMATE CHANGE?”

  1. Looking back on the summer of last year, you’d think our climate was heating up, not cooling down. It got so hot I broke down and bought an air conditioner. We’ve had a wet spring so who knows what summer will bring this year?

  2. The climate continues to be an incredible cyclical event, ever reminding us of just how small we are, and how much we are not in control of any weather events. The test of time tells us all of just how strong mother nature is, how much she is in control, and how much we continue to be at her mercy.

    Thanks for the post.

    dp

    Deon Lyons Author of Sully Street Now Available in Paperback @ The Children’s Book Cellar, Downtown Waterville

    Also Available in Paperback and Digital at the Following Link: http://www.amazon.com/dp/B00C4ZHD0O email dplion@roadrunner.com Personal Website http://www.dplyons.com Personal Blog http://www.dplyons.wordpress.com “The happiest of people don’t have the best of everything, they just make the best of everything they have.” Unknown Author

    _____

Leave a Reply

