HOW I MIGHT HAVE BECOME A SUCCESSFUL AUTHOR.

ImagePerhaps I’m wrong but it seems that blasphemous books sell. With the success of such books as The Shack, Your Best Life Now, and The God Delusion, I certainly have to wonder.

I wrote How I Was Razed: A Journey from Cultism to Christianity to show how I was taken in by The World Tomorrow radio program and then by a cultic house church’s elders. The memoir shows how God led me out of that legalistic congregation to the proper knowledge of the scriptures.

If I had no conscience and no fear of divine retribution, I could have written how right the cult leader was. I could have twisted scriptures to fit Brother Herald’s notions and rebuked established churches for not embracing them. People with poor biblical literacy, and that includes many professing Christians, would have been easily fooled by what the leader of that church taught and what I wrote.

Furthermore, I could have agreed with the elders that my continuing poor vision was a sign of hidden sin, a root of bitterness, generational sin, and a lack of faith on my part. Many people are being taken in by health-and-wealth teachers who believe you can get whatever you want from God if you just work up your faith to the right level. Preachers of this doctrine rake in millions from their devoted followers who are kept hanging on to their dreams by clever manipulation.

Alternately, I could have followed the lead of militant atheists and written about what a load of baloney Christianity is. I could have demonstrated that by the failure of any genuine healings to happen. I also could have demonstrated how ridiculous the superstitions of Thee Church, as I referred to it, were in light of scientific reason.

There was a time in my life when I believed in Evolution. I could have written a book on how cruel Christianity is with its condemnation of people’s weak faith. I once believed that evolution was better because nobody was to blame for genetic imperfections. Eugenics and the Holocaust would be left out by me in that book because they would disprove my contention.

Since I’m an honest person and since I love God, I feel constrained to write the truth. Everything in How I Was Razed: A Journey from Cultism to Christianity is true to the best of my knowledge. I worked hard to “show” rather than “tell” in my memoir. Any temptation to rant, I purposely squelched. In fact, I included quotations from letters that I had received over the years in the text.

My testimony of the heavenly Father’s kindness to me is available from Amazon, Barnes & Noble, and Virtual Bookworm Publishers. As for my previous two books, check them out at Bruce Atchison’s books.

Author: bruce Atchison - author

I'm a legally-blind freelance writer as well as the author of three memoirs and scores of articles. Contact me for details.

Leave a Reply

