HASTE REALLY DOES MAKE WASTE.

ImageI hate being rushed by others. It rattles me and I can’t think straight. I’ve lost many things and made many mistakes as a result of being urged to hurry by impatient people or because I felt afraid of being late. Worse yet, I’ve occasionally lost hand-made items that were gifts from friends.

During February of 1982, the bus drivers in Edmonton went on strike. Since I’m legally blind, I asked around at work for somebody to give me a ride there and home again. I had to get up an hour earlier to accommodate their schedule but I put up with the inconvenience. I knew the strike couldn’t last forever.

One afternoon as I was leaving work, I dropped one of my mittens that a church elder, who I call Sister Roberta, knitted for me. Because the wool was beige, I couldn’t see the mitt in all the slush.

“Hurry up,” my colleague called from her car. “We haven’t got all day.”

“I lost my glove,” I said as I scanned the area around the snowy parking lot where I stood.

“Never mind that. Just get over here.”

My second mistake happened when I was at church. As I took off a different pair of mitts and hung my coat on the coat tree, Sister Roberta asked, “Aren’t you wearing those mitts I made for you?”

“I lost one in the snow,” I admitted.

“Don’t you realize how much work I put into knitting those for you,” she exclaimed. “I worked so hard on those and you had to lose one. You should treat people’s gifts with more respect, young man.”

I apologized but Sister Roberta continued lecturing me about how ungrateful I had been. Her harangue ruined the joy I usually felt about those Bible studies.

This story wasn’t included in my newly published book, How I Was Razed: A Journey from Cultism to Christianity. Even so, it shows how those folks, particularly Sister Roberta, treated me during the years I attended that house church. Amazon and Barnes & Noble distribute the e-book edition while Virtual Bookworm stocks the paperback version. My two previous memoirs are available at the Bruce Atchison’s books link.

Author: bruce Atchison - author

I'm a legally-blind freelance writer as well as the author of three memoirs and scores of articles. Contact me for details.

Leave a Reply

