HOW I MISSED A MUSICAL MILESTONE.

ImageMost people never receive an honour such as having their composition broadcast across the former Soviet Union. Today is a bitter-sweet anniversary for me. In 1991, one of my electronic music pieces was played on a radio network in the Commonwealth of Independent States (CIS).

I felt so excited the day I received the letter from Sergey Tutov, host of a radio show called Tangerine Wave. He informed me that January 31 would be the day that my music would be played on his show.

As soon as I arrived home from work, I turned the dial of my shortwave receiver. In those days, the CIS hadn’t yet begun to switch to FM for their relay stations. Though reception was good, I missed the broadcast. Either I mixed up the time or the date.

A few weeks later, I received the playlist of the show on which my composition had been played. I felt proud of this accomplishment but chagrinned that I couldn’t record it for myself.

Six years later, I had the privilege of traveling to Moscow and being a guest on Sergey’s show. A friend of his made a tape of it and it’s one of my treasured possessions today. I no longer compose electronic music but I still fondly remember the triumphs and friendships I made during those years.

I mentioned my music in my debut memoir, When a Man Loves a Rabbit: Learning and Living with Bunnies. It and my memoir of being in a school for the blind are available at the Bruce Atchison’s books link. My recently published testimony, How I Was Razed: A Journey from Cultism to Christianity is distributed through Amazon and Barnes & Noble in e-book form. Virtual Bookworm stocks the paperback version.

Author: bruce Atchison - author

I'm a legally-blind freelance writer as well as the author of three memoirs and scores of articles. Contact me for details.

One thought on “HOW I MISSED A MUSICAL MILESTONE.”

  1. I had a song played on the radio, but it wasn’t one I composed. When ACB Radio first became available on line, one of its channels was a music station that played songs not only by blind musicians such as Stevie Wonder and Ray Charles, but also material from amateur musicians such as myself. I made a recording of me singing “Memory” from the Broadway musical, Cats, accompanying myself on the keyboard, and e-mailed it to the station. My technology was crude, but the station accepted my work, and I remember the thrill I felt when I first heard it on the radio, preceded by the British announcer giving my name and the name of the song. Thanks, Bruce, for giving me another great idea for my blog.

Leave a Reply

