RESOLVING THE OLD EARTH VERSES YOUNG EARTH CONTROVERCY

ImageWhich do you believe? Is the earth only six-thousand years old or more than four-billion years old? For much of my life, I believed the former. Now I’ve found compelling reasons to believe in the latter.

Doctor William Dembski published a book called The End of Christianity: Finding a Good God in an Evil World. Its main theme is the reconciliation of empirical science and the Bible. But how can this be since the book of nature shows us an old universe whereas the book of scripture depicts an apparently young cosmos? Dembski wrote that the first chapter of Genesis shows not a chronological sequence but a hierarchy of creation. That explains the reason why light was present for the first three days but the sun and moon were made on the fourth. Furthermore, there’s a symmetrical relationship between the first and fourth days in Genesis as well as the second to the fifth and third to the sixth.

Another conundrum is how disease and predation could have happened before the exile of Adam and Eve from Eden. Dembski explained in his book that Adam’s sin defiled both the past and future of creation. This retroactive causation seems far fetched but it relates to what the apostle Paul wrote in First  Corinthians 15:45 KJV). “And so it is written, The first man Adam was made a living soul; the last Adam was made a quickening spirit.” Though the chapter is about the resurrection of the dead, it relates to the first Adam’s sin and the last Adam’s redemption of humans along with the universe.

Then there’s the matter of star light. Supernova 1987A exploded some one-hundred-and-sixty-million years ago, a logical impossibility if the universe is only six-thousand years old. Since God wouldn’t lie to us by making things appear ancient, we must believe that the light of the stars is telling us the truth.

I had great difficulty believing this radical proposal at first. Fortunately, Hank Hanegraaff (The Bible Answer Man) made it quite clear that he was not advocating for evolution but empirical observations. Now I understand that since Christ’s sacrifice on the cross saved people in the past and future, so Adam’s transgression caused the curse of sin to corrupt the world before God made him as well as afterward.

If you wish to hear the thought-provoking two-program interview that Hank Hanegraaff conducted, here are the links to both of them.

http://www.equip.org/audio/hank-hanegraaff-with-special-guest-william-dembski-part-1/

http://www.equip.org/audio/hank-hanegraaff-with-special-guest-william-dembski-part-2/

I wrote about my own experience with evolution in How I Was Razed: A Journey from Cultism to Christianity. Amazon and Barnes & Noble distribute the e-book versions of it while Virtual Bookworm stocks the paperback version. My previous memoirs are on the left side of the Blogspot page.

Author: bruce Atchison - author

I'm a legally-blind freelance writer as well as the author of three memoirs and scores of articles. Contact me for details.

3 thoughts on “RESOLVING THE OLD EARTH VERSES YOUNG EARTH CONTROVERCY”

  1. For me, it’s the opposite. I was inculcated with evolutionism and defended it blindly and fervently. Now I realize that I should have been paying attention to what was in front of me (in the Bible) all along as there is much evidence for a young earth–not an earth that’s billions of years old.

    1. I’d be interested in learning where in Scripture these proofs for a young earth are. Please reply with them. It should make for a most stimulating discussion. BTW, I accepted evolution for a while because I figured there would be no blame for being born with disabilities. I didn’t know then that God uses such things for his glory. John 9:3 means so much to me now that it’s my life verse.

      1. There’s many sites calculating the approximate age of the earth based on the events documented in the Bible. I will refer you to one. I often like to show you exactly how it’s done myself, but as my math is freakishly lacking, I will let others explain it.

        http://www.answersingenesis.org/articles/2007/05/30/how-old-is-earth

        Most atheists don’t even argue about what the Bible says on the age of the earth–they simply argue that the Bible is wrong. Which it is not.

Leave a Reply

