DO NOT PUT THE LORD YOUR GOD TO THE TEST.

ImageThe prosperity gospel is perhaps the worst example of people trying to manipulate God. According to its adherents, faith is a force and words are the containers of the force of faith. By speaking faith-filled words, a person can supposedly create whatever they want in their lives. When the inevitable happens and people don’t get what they want, others condemn them for lacking faith or speaking fear-filled words. The end result is that many believers end up rejecting Christianity altogether.

I once believed that God would help me win a lottery so I wouldn’t have to work at my dead-end job anymore. Each time I bought a ticket, I prayed that my numbers would be chosen.

I “played” the lottery for about a year before giving up. One ticket won a free ticket which won another free ticket but I won no money. This disappointment with the way God was supposed to help his children added to my disillusionment.

Eventually, I discovered that I couldn’t run my life by myself. The condo that I thought would be quieter than my old neighbourhood was actually far worse. This brought me to my knees in repentance. I begged God for forgiveness and began listening to Christian programs. Bible-believing teachers showed me how we must depend upon the Lord for our needs and that trying to manipulate him was a sin.

Now that I know this wonderful truth, I want others to discover it too. That’s why I wrote How I Was Razed: A Journey from Cultism to Christianity. Through the experiences I had, I hope to show how wrong name-it-and-claim-it preachers are. Being the heavenly Father, God knows what will benefit or harm us. He sees the future so he can see what would happen if we had our own way all the time. The name of Jesus isn’t some magic wand either. The Lord provides us with what he knows will help us grow as people, even though we might not like it.

How I Was Razed shows how wrong those charismatic house church folks were and how God straightened me out. Amazon and Barnes & Noble distribute the e-book version of my testimony while Virtual Bookworm stocks the paperback edition. Please also check out my previous memoirs at the Bruce Atchison’s books link.

Author: bruce Atchison - author

I'm a legally-blind freelance writer as well as the author of three memoirs and scores of articles. Contact me for details.

Leave a Reply

