THE DAY THE CAT GOT BAPTIZED

ImageThough the elders and members at a certain house church wounded me deeply with their criticisms, I recall some hilarious stories of what happened there. The funniest is when a cat had the surprise of his life one day.

In that basement church was a large baptismal tank. It was about five feet deep by eight feet wide and five feet from front to back. Since the house’s hot water tank couldn’t heat the large volume of water required, the women who owned the house added boiling water from kettles to it. Consequently, the lid was left off the tank.

Their cat used to race around the sanctuary and part of his route was the top of the baptismal tank. He leapt up from the floor one day to the top of the tank, a distance of two feet, only to realize that there was no lid.

Sisters Eileen and Roberta heard the splash and came downstairs to investigate. John, Sister Roberta’s son, grabbed a towel from the laundry room and lowered it into the tank. The sodden cat raced up the towel, across John’s arm, and down his back before running to his favourite moping spot.

When Sister Roberta told me the story years later, I couldn’t stop laughing. Like a Looney Tunes cartoon, I imagined the cat in mid air with his claws spread out wide and a horrified look on his face. I heard other funny church stories that they told me but that one was the best.

I wrote about this church in my How I Was Razed memoir. It’s the testimony of how God lead me from cultism to Christianity. I expect it to be published soon through Virtual Bookworm. Meanwhile, please check out my books at the Bruce Atchison’s books link.

Author: bruce Atchison - author

I'm a legally-blind freelance writer as well as the author of three memoirs and scores of articles. Contact me for details.

One thought on “THE DAY THE CAT GOT BAPTIZED”

  1. It’s a good thing the boiling water hadn’t just been added before the cat fell in. This reminds me of the time when I was a kid, and Wanda, our white cat with black spots, fell into the tub while Mother was taking a bath. Needless to say, Wanda made sure she wasn’t in the bathroom when anyone was in the tub.

Leave a Reply

