THE PLUNGE OF 1976.

ImageThis is one date that will always remain in my memory. On November 15, 1976, Rene Levesque led his Party Quebecois to power. Because it espoused separating Quebec from the rest of the nation, the Canadian dollar immediately plunged in value. Nervous investors worried that Quebec would soon secede from the rest of Canada and they’d lose their money.

As I wrote on November fifth, that prophecy didn’t come to pass. Neither have most of the doom and gloom warnings actually came to pass. The dollar did remain below the U.S. greenback until 2008 but enterprising businesses profited from the lower value. Tourism boomed as Americans realized that their bucks went a lot further here. Canada’s products were also cheaper. Canadians who purchased from U.S. firms suffered, particularly when the dollar was worth only sixty-two cents American, but that’s the way trade works.

Canada’s dollar is now about the same value as its America counterpart. All the dire predictions made in the past seem absurd in light of current conditions. It seems to me that the best plan is to hope for the best but pre pair for the worst.

I wrote about many other wacky prophecies made by a self-proclaimed prophet in my How I Was Razed: A Journey from Cultism to Christianity memoir. Check the Virtual Bookworm site for details about this paperback and e-book. My previous books can be found at the Bruce Atchison’s books link.

Author: bruce Atchison - author

I'm a legally-blind freelance writer as well as the author of How I Was Razed, Deliverance from Jericho, and When a Man Loves a Rabbit. Two of those memoirs are available on my Blogspot page. How I Was Razed is available through Amazon and at the www.virtualbookworm.com page.

Leave a Reply

