HOW WE SURPRISED MOM.

ImageKids not only say the “darndest” things, they sometimes do them. Diane and I loved to mess around with Mom’s appliances when she wasn’t around. Suffering from the greener-grass syndrom, we were never content to play only with our toys. Our mischief actually benefitted our mother once.

Mom had gone uptown one dark evening, leaving Diane, Roy, and me to amuse ourselves.  I suppose she was tired of being cooped up at home with us and felt we were old enough to look after ourselves.  Diane got out Mom’s old Hoover vacuum, plugged it in, and started mooving it around the kitchen floor.  Somehow, the rubbing of the vacuum made those cucumber green tiles  shinier.

“Let’s make the floor really shiny for Mom,” Diane suggested.  It seemed like a great idea to me. I couldn’t wait until she came home to see what we’d done.  

We took turns with the vacuum until the floor shone like glass.

Finally the big moment came.  “Look Mom!  Look what we did for you, Diane excitedly proclaimed when Mom came home.  

“How did you get the floor so shiny?” mom wondered, clearly touched by the nice deed we did for her.  

“With that,” Diane said as she pointed to the Hoover.  

Mom couldn’t believe it but we kept insisting it was so.  We’d used a Hoover to shine the floor.  This was one of the first things we ever did that was useful with her appliances.

In my Deliverance from Jericho (Six Years in a Blind School) memoir, I mentioned many incidents of mischief which my dorm mates and I caused. Please check the Bruce Atchison’s books link for details.

Author: bruce Atchison - author

I'm a legally-blind freelance writer as well as the author of How I Was Razed, Deliverance from Jericho, and When a Man Loves a Rabbit. Two of those memoirs are available on my Blogspot page. How I Was Razed is available through Amazon and at the www.virtualbookworm.com page.

1 thought on “HOW WE SURPRISED MOM.”

Leave a Reply

