THE DAY I LOST TRUST IN GOD

.ImageHave you ever wondered why God lets bad things happen? This is a question that philosophers and clergy have wrestled with for millennia. I also have had my doubts about the Lord’s protection. In one instance back in 1983, he taught me a lesson through allowing somebody to break into my suite.

I attended an Amway rally which was held on August 27. In addition to motivational speeches, The Nylons performed their a cappella renditions of various popular tunes.

I dressed in my suit and tie for that occasion. Then I called a taxi because I missed the bus. As I got into the cab, I noticed somebody sitting on the front steps of the house.

As I walked to the steps which lead down to my suite that evening, I noticed something red under the bush by my kitchen window. It was the bowl where my spider plant sat. I found the pot and put it back in the bowl. Then I noticed that the window was not in it’s frame but a bit beside it. That’s when I realized that somebody broke into my house.

After searching my suite, I called the police and told them that only money and some jewellery, including a diamond ring which Mom gave me, were stolen. When an officer knocked on my door, I showed him where I had hidden my money and where the jewellery had been stolen from. After dusting for fingerprints and photographing the scene he left.

The upstairs tenants felt affronted when I told them that I wondered if it was an inside job. Things had gone missing from the laundry room closet where I stored my products. One of those things was an old battery-powered antique radio. The back window to the laundry room had been broken in March and I found it had been removed a few times before. According to the tenants, a teenage friend of their’s had done it.

When I insisted on pursuing the case, one tenant cornered me and insisted I drop the charges. I felt humiliated as I reluctantly agreed.

The police officer gave me a booklet about personal safety and protecting property before he left. One suggestion was to mark all my things with some sort of identification number.

I diligently marked up all my records and album covers. Then I borrowed an engraving pen from the police station and marked up my electronic devices such as radios and tape recorders.

I also made a recording, telling about the events which lead up to the break-in. I knew that cases dragged on for a long time so I wanted to get all the facts straight before I forgot them.

I know now the real reason Why God allowed this break-in. I had the wrong idea about who he was and what he expects from us. He isn’t like a magic wand and his son’s name isn’t some sort of talisman. Like a father, he sometimes lets us do things our way to show us how wrong we were. I’m glad I know him much better through the mistakes I’ve made.

I also post excerpts of my books on my Bruce Atchison’s books page. My paperbacks can also be purchased from that page.

Author: bruce Atchison - author

I'm a legally-blind freelance writer as well as the author of How I Was Razed, Deliverance from Jericho, and When a Man Loves a Rabbit. Two of those memoirs are available on my Blogspot page. How I Was Razed is available through Amazon and at the www.virtualbookworm.com page.

1 thought on “THE DAY I LOST TRUST IN GOD”

  1. You shouldn’t have let your neighbor intimidate you into dropping those charges. That kid needed to learn a lesson. If anybody deserved to be cornered and humiliated, it was him, not you. I hope he didn’t grow up to be a career criminal, but he probably did.

    Abbie Johnson Taylor, Author of
    We Shall Overcome
    and
    How to Build a Better Mousetrap:
    Recollections and Reflections of a Family Caregiver
    http://abbiejohnsontaylor.com/blog

Leave a Reply

