THE WONDERFUL WATER PARK.

Summer is a time of fun and relaxation for many of us. Families go on vacation to get away from the daily routine. Children frequent swimming pools and play grounds, making the most of their free time. Those folks who must work all summer often visit local attractions in their off hours.

Being a single man, I still needed a break from the usual grind from time to time. Though I’d visited West Edmonton Mall and saw the dolphins, I’d never tried the water park. On one of my Friday Afternoons off, I rode the busses, bathing suit and towel in hand, to find out what everybody raved about. It was more fun than I expected.

I first tried the wave pool, a swimming pool with an artificial wave generator. I liked that plus the pool was like a beach, gradually getting deeper.

Next, I rode a sort of wheelless go cart thing which slid down rollers and splashed into a pool. That was quite fun too.

Then I tried the water slides. I didn’t like them as much as the ones at Kelowna but they were still enjoyable.

Afternoons spent like that were good psychologically since I felt increasingly frustrated at work. The admission to the water park seemed inexpensive compared to the pleasure I had.

I related my frustrations with work and my spiritual life in my upcoming How I Was Razed: A Journey from Cultism to Christianity memoir. I hope to have it in print and e-book form in a few months. Meanwhile, you can check out my books at the Bruce Atchison’s books link.

Author: bruce Atchison - author

I'm a legally-blind freelance writer as well as the author of three memoirs and scores of articles. Contact me for details.

2 thoughts on “THE WONDERFUL WATER PARK.”

  1. This sounds fun. I’ve never been to a water park. The closest I’ve come is our local park swimming pool that has a water slide. I tried it with a friend years ago when I was single, but at the time, the swimming suit I was wearing had a cloth skirt so I wasn’t sliding very fast. If I’d been wearing my Speedo suit that I wear to my water exercise classes, I might have slid faster. I never worked up the nerve to try it with the other suit, though.

    Abbie Johnson Taylor, Author of
    We Shall Overcome
    and
    How to Build a Better Mousetrap:
    Recollections and Reflections of a Family Caregiver
    http://abbiejohnsontaylor.com/blog

  2. Reading about the water park made me smile because it brought back some fun memories from when I was a teenager. Gosh we had so much fun going down those slides and into the wave pools. I don’t think I could do a tall or steep slide anymore, it’s scary to think about it.

Leave a Reply

