A TALE OF TWO KITS

.ImageDid you ever own one of those Science Fair multi-project kits that Radio Shack sold? I bought several of them. They gave me hours of pleasure over the years. I still have most of those kits today.

On one visit to Radio Shack during the summer of 1976, I noticed a solar power kit for sale. I bought it and had a lot of fun building the projects. I assembled several radios, one of which switched on when enough sunlight struck the solar cells. The kit included a transmitter circuit but it could only send morse code. I had no interest in that project but I had fun building the rest of the circuits included in the kit.

I also bought an optical projects kit. When I arrived home after work, I became so engrossed in building the telescope that I didn’t notice time passing. It was eleven before I stopped working on my project. After all that hard work, the telescope wasn’t of much use. I saw mostly halos and blurs which made seeing distant objects almost impossible.

Though Radio Shack is now The Source here in Canada and the chain sells only consumer products such as phones and MP3 players, I fondly remember the days when a person could buy a wide variety of kits. It was a paradise for those wishing to build circuits from scratch as well. Radio Shack still exists and they sell electronic kits.

I wrote about my love of electronics and radios in Deliverance from Jericho: Six Years in a Blind School). Please visit the Bruce Atchison’s books link to learn more about this memoir as well as my writing activities.

Author: bruce Atchison - author

I'm a legally-blind freelance writer as well as the author of three memoirs and scores of articles. Contact me for details.

1 thought on “A TALE OF TWO KITS”

  1. Hi Bruce, I wasn’t into science when I was a kid, and it wasn’t my best subject in school. I’m glad you had a lot of fun with your kits, though. We have Radio Shack in the U.S., but as you said, they only sell iPhones, computers, and other electronic gadgets.

Leave a Reply

