BE ANGRY BUT SIN NOT.

Now that I no longer believe the blasphemous doctrines of Brother Herald, the leader of a cult church I once attended, and suffer Sister Roberta’s misguided admonishments about getting “all fussed up,” I understand the correct use of anger. As June Hunt pointed out to me, the self-centred variety is sinful and destructive while others-centred righteous wrath is condoned in Scripture. Paul wrote in Romans 12:19, “Dearly beloved, avenge not yourselves, but rather give place unto wrath: for it is written, ‘Vengeance is mine; I will repay,’ saith the Lord.”
 
Neither should anger be suppressed. Paul wrote in Ephesians 4:26. “Be ye angry, and sin not: let not the sun go down upon your wrath:” Hebrews 12:14-15 says, “Follow peace with all men, and holiness, without which no man shall see the Lord: Looking diligently lest any man fail of the grace of God; lest any root of bitterness springing up trouble you, and thereby many be defiled;”
 
In every organization, there will always be that minority who refuse to heed entreaties. Christ laid out the steps for dealing with problems between believers in Matthew 18:15-18. Even so, I learned the hard way that there are some folks who have no interest in cooperating. Experience has taught me to agree with Paul when he wrote in Romans 12:18, “If it be possible, as much as lieth in you, live peaceably with all men.”  
 
How I Was Razed is the testimony of how God revealed his true character to me after charismatic house church elders misled me for more than fifteen years. You’re welcome to visit http://www.bruceatchison.blogspot.com for more information about more information about my writing.

Author: bruce Atchison - author

I'm a legally-blind freelance writer as well as the author of three memoirs and scores of articles. Contact me for details.

Leave a Reply

