BE ANGRY BUT SIN NOT

Now that I no longer believe the blasphemous doctrines of Brother H, the leader of a cult church I once attended, and suffer Sister R’s misguided admonishments about getting “all fussed up,” I understand the correct use of anger. As June Hunt pointed out to me, the self-centred variety is sinful and destructive while others-centred righteous wrath is condoned in Scripture. Paul wrote in Romans 12:19, “Dearly beloved, avenge not yourselves, but rather give place unto wrath: for it is written, ‘Vengeance is mine; I will repay,’ saith the Lord.”

Neither should anger be suppressed. Paul wrote in Ephesians 4:26. “Be ye angry, and sin not: let not the sun go down upon your wrath:” Hebrews 12:14-15 says, “Follow peace with all men, and holiness, without which no man shall see the Lord: Looking diligently lest any man fail of the grace of God; lest any root of bitterness springing up trouble you, and thereby many be defiled;”

In every organization, there will always be that minority who refuse to heed entreaties. Christ laid out the steps for dealing with problems between believers in Matthew 18:15-18. Even so, I learned the hard way that there are some folks who have no interest in cooperating. Experience has taught me to agree with Paul when he wrote in Romans 12:18, “If it be possible, as much as lieth in you, live peaceably with all men.”

The previous paragraphs came from my upcoming How I Was Razed memoir. I also have two other books in print. When a Man Loves a Rabbit (Learning and Living With Bunnies) tells the touching story of my long-eared companions and the amazing things I learned from them. Deliverance From Jericho (Six Years in a Blind School) recounts what it was like to be sent to a distant institution for months at a stretch. Both paperbacks can be purchased by Clicking here. Information about my writing and these books is also on that page.

Author: bruce Atchison - author

I'm a legally-blind freelance writer as well as the author of three memoirs and scores of articles. Contact me for details.

Leave a Reply

