What is my purpose for this page?

Welcome to my new blog. The reason I set this one up is to present excerpts from my two memoirs, When a Man Loves a Rabbit (Learning and Living With Bunnies) and Deliverance From Jericho (Six Years in a Blind School). When my third and final memoir, How I Was Razed, is published, I’ll post excerpts from it as well. I hope to give you not only interesting posts to read but an understanding of the valuable and practical lessons contained in my books.

When a Man Loves a Rabbit (Learning and Living With Bunnies) chronicles eight years of my life with house rabbits. Far from being dull and witless fur balls, these creatures are astonishingly intelligent, have mischievous personalities, and are affectionate, defying every stereotype. The main character, a Himalayan named Gideon, was the first real house rabbit I had. The bunnies I previously owned were little more than furry amusements which I kept in cramped cages. Gideon taught me many things about his species as well as confirming the amazing claims made by my friends on the alt.pets.rabbits newsgroup and the PetBunny e-mail list. For additional information on house rabbit care, visit the http://www.rabbit.org House Rabbit Society site.

Deliverance From Jericho (Six Years in a Blind School) tells the story of the years I spent at that government-run institution in Vancouver, British Columbia during the sixties. Having previously attended local public school for two years, being sent five hundred miles from home for months at a stretch was a terrible shock. Even so, I made the best of it. Though this memoir contains some heart-breaking recollections, I also related incidents of mischief that my schoolmates and I caused as well as describing the activities of our daily lives. Thankfully, today’s disabled children are integrated into the public system instead of being automatically exiled to distant institutions.

How I Was Razed is an account of my involvement in a cult church for more than fifteen years, my rejection of God for almost a decade because he didn’t heal my eyes, and how I eventually discovered the liberating truth about genuine Christianity. More than just a story of a naive convert being mislead, my book lists many excellent apologetics resources. These include radio programs, online ministries, and books by astute authors. If all goes well and I find a reliable publisher, this memoir should be in print by the end of the year or early the next.

For more information about me and my writing, please visit my http://www.inscribe.org/BruceAtchison Inscribe Writers Group page. I had it designed so that anybody could navigate it. Another benefit is that there are no ads or Flash animations cluttering it up.

Author: bruce Atchison - author

I'm a legally-blind freelance writer as well as the author of three memoirs and scores of articles. Contact me for details.

Leave a Reply

